Loans With No US Credit History: Options and Costs
Sometimes. Having no U.S. credit history does not bar you from every loan, but it limits your choices. Some lenders do not check credit reports at all. Many of those loans do not build a credit record either, so you can borrow and still start from zero. If you want a record, ask one question first: "Do you report my payments to a credit bureau?"
What "no credit history" means
A credit report is a file kept by a credit reporting company. It lists your loans and cards and whether you paid on time. The CFPB, the federal consumer finance agency, calls a person "credit invisible" when they do not have any credit history with one of the three nationwide credit reporting companies. A 2016 CFPB blog post put the number at 26 million Americans, about one in ten adults. People who are new to the country, young adults and people who pay only in cash can all be in this group.
A lender with no file to read has less to go on. It may ask for proof of income, a bank account, or a different kind of check. Some lenders look only at your bank account and pay deposits.
Which loans may not check credit reports
Pawn loans, payday loans and many title loans are often made without a credit report check, because they rely on an item, a car title, or a check or bank debit. That is a general pattern. Each lender sets its own rules. Our guide to no credit check loans explains the types and costs, so we do not repeat it here.
The key point for this article is what the CFPB says about reporting. Its page on ways to start or rebuild credit (reviewed September 13, 2024) says some products do not help: debit cards, prepaid cards, payday loans and "buy here, pay here" auto loans, because their payments are not reported to the three nationwide credit reporting companies. A loan with no credit check usually does not make a credit record. It is a way to get money, not a way to build credit.
Two online lenders, and what they say about eligibility
Online lenders often check bank accounts rather than credit reports. We hold a few facts from their own pages (checked October 2026):
- OppLoans says: "To be eligible for a product through the OppLoans platform, potential borrowers must: Be 18 years or older Have a bank account (checking account or saving account) Reside in one of the states in which we currently operate Have a regular source of income (Income can be from employment or from benefits including Social Security, Disability, etc." (source; see the OppLoans brand page).
- Possible Finance's support page says: "For security purposes, your loan funds must be sent to the bank account you used to apply." (source; see the Possible Finance brand page).
Both quotes are about a bank account. Neither tells you how the lender treats a missing U.S. credit history or whether it reports to a bureau. Those are questions to ask.
Ways to build a U.S. credit record
The CFPB lists three ways to start or rebuild credit. Check each one for credit reporting first.
- Secured credit card. You put down cash, for example $500, and can then spend up to that amount. The CFPB says paying on time helps establish credit history.
- Credit-builder loan. The CFPB says "You build credit and savings at the same time, through a loan from your bank or credit union." The money is held as savings while you make payments, over a term of about 6 to 24 months.
- Retail or store credit card. These usually have a low limit.
Credit-builder loans and secured cards are not the same as fast cash. They are slow and small. Their value is the record, and only if the lender reports your on-time payments.
Lending circles
A lending circle is a small group that lends to each other. Mission Asset Fund, a nonprofit, runs one version. Its site says its circles have 6 to 12 members, and each month one member receives the loan until everyone has had a turn. It lists loan amounts from $300 to $2,400, says "The loan has zero interest," and says "We report to all three major credit bureaus." We cite this as one example of what a program says about itself (page checked October 11, 2026). It is not an endorsement. Circles run by other groups may not report, so ask.
Credit unions and small-dollar loans
Federal credit unions may offer payday alternative loans (PALs): PALs I are $200 to $1,000 over 1 to 6 months, PALs II go up to $2,000 over 1 to 12 months, and the application fee is at most $20 (12 CFR 701.21(c)(7)). The NCUA's rate ceiling is 18% for most loans, and PALs may go up to 28%. Ask whether the credit union reports PAL payments to the bureaus.
Questions to ask a lender
- "Do you report my payments to a credit bureau? To all three?"
- "Do you check a credit report, or only my bank account and income?"
- "Can I borrow with no U.S. credit history? What do you use instead?"
- "What is the total I will repay, in dollars, and the APR?"
- "Is there a fee for paying early?"
- "Are you licensed in my state?"
Our lenders near me page lists stores you can call. The APR guide helps compare costs.
What you'll need
- A government photo ID. Which IDs count is up to the lender.
- Proof of income, such as pay stubs, benefit letters or bank deposits.
- Often, an open bank account in your name.
- Your address and phone number.
Ask the lender which documents it accepts before you go. Our guide on payday loans with an ITIN covers number and ID questions.
State rules that can matter
Some states cap the rate on small loans. A cap limits the cost of borrowing with no history.
| State | What the rule says | Law |
|---|---|---|
| Connecticut | A small loan under $5,000 may not carry an APR above 36 percent (or the lower Military Lending Act rate). | Conn. Gen. Stat. § 36a-558(d)(1) |
| Vermont | For an installment loan not otherwise limited, the rate cannot exceed 24 percent a year on the first $1,000 and 12 percent on the balance over $1,000, or 18 percent APR on the whole balance, whichever is higher. | 9 V.S.A. § 41a(b)(5) |
From our state rules data, last checked October 9, 2026. Rules change. Check your state's page in the lender directory. Where payday loans are legal is on our state map.
Other options to consider first
These are general options, not recommendations of a particular provider.
- A payment plan. Ask your landlord, utility or clinic for more time.
- 211. Call 211 or visit 211.org for local help with rent, utilities and food.
Frequently asked questions
Can I get a loan with no credit history?
Sometimes. Some lenders do not check credit reports, and others use your bank account or income. Each lender decides, so ask.
Does my credit history from another country count?
We did not find an official source saying it does. Ask the lender whether it looks at foreign records.
Will a payday loan build my credit?
Usually not. The CFPB says payday loan payments are not reported to the three nationwide credit reporting companies.
What is the fastest way to start a U.S. credit record?
The CFPB lists a secured credit card, a credit-builder loan or a store card. None is instant, and each helps only if on-time payments are reported.
Is a lending circle a loan?
Mission Asset Fund describes its circles as zero-interest loans among members, reported to the credit bureaus. Other programs may work differently.
Is it legal for a lender to turn me down for lack of a credit history?
We do not give legal advice. Federal Regulation B bars credit decisions based on national origin (12 CFR 1002.6(b)(9)). See the ITIN guide for the rule.
Sources
- Who are the credit invisible?, CFPB, December 12, 2016.
- What are some ways to start or rebuild a good credit history?, CFPB, reviewed September 13, 2024.
- Lending Circles, Mission Asset Fund, checked October 11, 2026.
- OppLoans (site) and Possible Finance (Approvals), checked October 2026.
- 12 CFR 701.21, payday alternative loans, eCFR, checked October 11, 2026.
- 12 CFR 1002.6 (Regulation B), eCFR, checked October 11, 2026.
- Permissible Loan Interest Rate Ceiling Extended, NCUA, February 2026.
- Connecticut and Vermont rules: our state rules data, last checked October 9, 2026, laws linked in the table.
- 211.org, United Way Worldwide, checked October 11, 2026.
We are not a lender. This is general information, not legal or immigration advice. Rules change; check your state's current rules and the lender's own disclosures before you borrow.
Keep reading
Loans Without a Bank Account: Cash, Check and Prepaid Card Options
Many online lenders need a bank account; some stores pay in cash or by check. What lenders say, how to repay, pawn rules. Independent; not a lender.
Can You Get a Loan With a Matrícula Consular or a Passport?
Sometimes. Each lender sets its own ID rules. What a matrícula consular is, what one lender says about passports, and what to ask. Independent; not a lender.
Loans for DACA Recipients: What Lenders and Rules Say
What USCIS says DACA recipients can get, what lenders say about citizenship and SSNs, and questions to ask about renewals. Independent; not a lender.